The best winners of the Costume Designers Guild Awards 2022 – WWD


‘Dune’, ‘Cruella’ and ‘Coming 2 America’ won Best Picture awards at the 24th Annual Costume Designers Guild Awards, with Jacqueline West and Robert Morgan taking home Excellence in Science Fiction Film/ fantastic, Jenny Beavan winning Excellence in Period Film and Ruth E. Carter respectively winning Excellence in Contemporary Cinema.

Held Wednesday at the Broad Stage in Santa Monica, Calif., the ceremony — hosted by “Black Monday” co-stars Andrew Rannells and Casey Wilson — featured current Best Actor Oscar nominee Andrew Garfield, who received the Spotlight Award. He wore a Saint Laurent suit by Anthony Vaccarello.

“I’m so angry,” he said, visibly emotional, after being introduced by “Tick, Tick…Boom!” co-starring Judith Light. “I’m so upset, because I wasn’t supposed to cry tonight and Judith just made me do that. I am so amazingly moved and touched to be in this room with my community and so many collaborators that I love and appreciate and I am so lucky to know that. And being honored by the angel on earth that is Judith Light is a moment that will keep me going for the next 30 years.

In the world of television, the Sci-Fi/Fantasy category went to Shawna Trpcic for “The Book of Boba Fett”, the Period trophy went to Sharon Long for “The Great” and the Contemporary award was won by Patricia Field and Marylin Fitoussi for “Emily in Paris”. Excellence in Variety, Competition-Reality, Live Television was awarded to Tom Broecker and Eric Justian for “Saturday Night Live”.

The Costume Designers Guild – a union launched in 1999 of professional costume designers and illustrators working in the arts and entertainment – also honored costume designer Sharen Davis, known for her work on ‘Dreamgirls’ and ‘The Help’, who received the Career Achievement Award; producers Amy Pascal and Rachel O’Connor, who won the Distinguished Collaborator Award, and B Åkerlund, who won the Short Form Design award for “Welcome to Wonderlab”.

Source link


About Author

Comments are closed.