The Costume Designers Guild will celebrate Andrew Garfield and Amy Pascal


On Thursday morning, the Costume Designers Guild announced who the group will be honoring at its 24th annual awards, to be held March 9 at the Broad Stage in Santa Monica. Actor Andrew Garfield will receive the Spotlight Award, producers Amy Pascal and Rachel O’Connor (who is president of film and television at Pascal Pictures) will receive the Distinguished Collaborator Award and costume designer Sharen Davis the Career Achievement Award.

CDG’s Spotlight, Distinguished Collaborator and Career Achievement Awards recognize members of the entertainment industry whose work demonstrates a commitment to the art of costume design. Previous recipients include Charlize Theron, Glenn Close, Kerry Washington and Cate Blanchett (Spotlight); Shonda Rhimes, Meryl Streep, Guillermo del Toro and Quentin Tarantino (distinguished collaborator); and Ruth E. Carter, Eduardo Castro, Colleen Atwood, Sandy Powell and Ann Roth (Career Achievement).

In a statement, Costume Designers Guild President Salvador Perez said, “Andrew Garfield’s history with costume design has transcended genres. A tech giant, a decorated soldier, a superhero, and now, with his performances in The Eyes of Tammy Faye and tick, tick…BOOM!, he’s proven he can do and carry just about whatever. We’re thrilled to welcome Amy Pascal and Rachel O’Connor to our list of amazing Distinguished Collaborators. Their respect for the art of costume design speaks for itself.

Speaking of the double Oscar nominee for ‘Ray’ and ‘Dreamgirls’, Perez continued, “And what can we say about Sharen Davis that she hasn’t already told us through her work? His designs have included some of the most iconic costumes to grace our screens and we are delighted to celebrate his contributions to film and television alongside our fellow honorees at this year’s awards ceremony.

CDG will announce the hosts and presenters for the 2022 celebration in the coming weeks.

Source link


About Author

Comments are closed.